Skip to content

Graduate School Grants 11 Dean's Awards for 2024

The Duke Graduate School is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2024 Dean's Awards, recognizing excellence in mentoring, teaching, and inclusive initiatives. Photos and profiles for all winners (faculty, student, and department/program) are forthcoming.

Dean's Award for Excellence in Mentoring

This award carries a $3,000 prize for each faculty winner and a $2,000 prize for each student winner.


Yiran Chen

John Cocke Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Robert Garlick

Assistant Professor of Economics

Ralph Litzinger

Associate Professor of Cultural Anthropology

Mallory SoRelle

Assistant Professor in the Sanford School of Public Policy



Alejandra Suarez-Arnedo

Biomedical Engineering (Faculty Advisor, Tatiana Segura)

Caleb Hazelwood

Philosophy (Faculty Advisors, Charles H. Pence and Alexander Rosenberg)

Savannah Johnson

Psychology and Neuroscience (Faculty Advisor, Eve S Puffer)


Dean's Award for Excellence in Teaching

This award is limited to Ph.D. students and carries a $2,000 prize.

Matthew Ennis

Physics (Faculty Advisor, Sara Haravifard)

Ciro Incoronato

Romance Studies (Faculty Advisor, Michael P. Hardt)

Amber Manning

English (Faculty Advisor, Priscilla Wald)


Dean's Award for Inclusive Excellence in Graduate Education

Each winning department or program receives a $5,000 prize to be used at its discretion.

Duke BOOST (Building Opportunities and Overtures in Science and Technology) Program

The BOOST Beyond Executive Team: Lindsey Chew, Margaret Weber, and Katherine Chew