You are here

You are here

10 Dean’s Awards Recipients Named for 2020

January 10, 2020

Dean's Awards 2020The Graduate School has announced the recipients of its 2020 Dean's Awards, which recognize outstanding efforts in mentoringteaching, and creating an inclusive environment for graduate education at Duke. The recipients will be honored at a reception on Wednesday, March 25.

Profiles of the recipients will be posted on this page later in the spring.

Dean’s Award for Excellence in Mentoring


  • William Darity, Samuel DuBois Cook Distinguished Professor of Public Policy
  • Jennifer Roizen, Assistant Professor of Chemistry
  • David Wong, Susan Fox Beischer and George D. Beischer Professor of Philosophy

Ph.D. Students

  • Gwenaëlle Thomas, Neurobiology (Adviser: Kafui Dzirasa and Marc Caron)
  • Christina Bejjani, Psychology & Neuroscience (Adviser: Tobias Egner)
  • Cherie Conley, Nursing (Adviser: Isaac Lipkus Reiner)

Each faculty award winner receives a $3,000 prize, while each student recipient gets $2,000.

Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching

  • Hannah Rogers, English (Adviser: Nancy Armstrong)
  • Chelsea Garber, Economics (Adviser: Christopher Timmins)
  • Brenda Yang, Psychology & Neuroscience (Adviser: Elizabeth Marsh)

Each winner receives $2,000. This award is for Ph.D. students only.

Dean’s Award for Inclusive Excellence in Graduate Education

  • Duke Research in Engineering Program (nominated by Ashutosh Chilkoti and Marc Sommer)

Each winning department or program receives $5,000 to be used at its discretion.