Skip to content

2012 Dean’s Awards for Excellence in Mentoring and Teaching Announced

The Dean’s Awards for Excellence in Mentoring and Teaching are presented each year to graduate faculty and students who consistently demonstrate best practices in these areas. Good mentoring is a key factor in ensuring that students are well trained in their disciplines, successfully complete their degrees, and have promising career opportunities. The best mentors promote a tradition of mentoring practices in their students. Those honored for their teaching create learning environments that inspire and challenge their students to actively engage in the classroom experience. The tough competition for these awards reveals that Duke continues to enjoy a vibrant culture that values both exemplary mentoring and exceptional teaching—twin aspects of the university culture and a deeply rooted part of the Duke experience.

The 2012 award recipients are listed below.

Dean’s Award for Excellence in Mentoring

Faculty Awards

Susan C. Alberts
The Jack H. Neely Professor of Biology

Charles Piot
Professor of Cultural Anthroplogy, African and African American Studies and Women’s Studies

Farshid Guilak
The Laszlo Ormandy Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Student Awards

Anne-Marie Angelo

Victor Ray

Dean’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching

Shannon McDermott
Genetics and Genomics

Wendy Dow Piniak
Marine Science and Conservation

Allison A. Schmitt