Group photo of Graduate Board of Visitors

The Graduate School Board of Visitors, established in 2010, serves an important advisory function for the dean of The Graduate School. Comprising alumni from a broad geographic area and representing the comprehensive nature of The Graduate School, the board helps to support and promote the mission of The Graduate School. The board considers and provides information and makes recommendations on matters relating to the graduate experience at Duke. It gives informal advice and assistance about programs and projects and enhances communication among the constituencies of The Graduate School.

Board of Visitors 2023–2024

Chair: Ronald Temple ’90, New York, New York
Managing Director and Co-Head of Multi-Asset and Head of US Equity at Lazard Asset Management LLC

Zaid Abdul-Aleem A.B.’94, A.M.’96, Chicago, Illinois
Partner at Invictus Growth Partners

Patricia Sánchez Abril A.B.'96, Coral Gables, Florida
Professor of Business Law and Associate Dean of the University of Miami Graduate School

Yang Chen M.S.'95, Ph.D.'97, Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Managing Director of BlackRock's Risk & Quantitative Analysis Group

Edwin Cooper A.M.'05, M.B.A.'07, Fayetteville, Georgia
Vice President of Finance and Business Unit CFO at Change Healthcare

Joseph Davis A.M.’95, Ph.D.’02, Malvern, Pennsylvania
Global Chief Economist at Vanguard Group and Global Head of Investment Strategy Group

Pavan Desikan Ph.D.'00, Palo Alto, California
Software Engineer at Google, Inc. 

Xiaobo Fan Ph.D.'04, Palo Alto, California
Tech Lead at Google, Inc.

Dennis Gilmore Ph.D.’78, P'14, Durham, North Carolina
Founder and President at Crosslynk Research & Consulting, LLC

Vernon Chun Jiang Ph.D.’94, Hillsborough, California
Co-Founder and Executive Vice President of Cothera Bioscience

Srinivasan "Chini" Krishnan M.S.’91, Ph.D.’92, Palo Alto, California
Founder and CEO of Vimo, Inc.

Rachael Lau B.S.E.’20, M.S.’22, Plainfield, Illinois
Civil & Environmental Engineering Ph.D. Candidate at Duke

June Mullaney Mader Ph.D.’86, Durham, North Carolina
Principal Consultant at GoForward, LLC

Sarah Mustillo A.M.'99, Ph.D.'01, South Bend, Indiana
Dean of the College of Arts & Letters at the University of Notre Dame

Michele Rasmussen Ph.D.’99, Chicago, Illinois
Dean of Students at the University of Chicago

Mary Manley Sapp A.B.’71, P’01, P’02, Reston, Virginia

Stephen Sapp A.B.’68, M.Div.’71, Ph.D.’75, P’01, P’02, Reston, Virginia

Joyce Scott Ph.D.’73, Greeley, Colorado

Vijay Srinivasan Ph.D.’95, Los Altos, California
Co-Founder of Major League Cricket (MLC)

Joshua Strayhorn A.M.’21, Ph.D.’23, Durham, North Carolina
Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow at the National Parks Service

George Wright Ph.D.’77, Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Advisor to the President and Interim Vice President of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion at the University of Kentucky

Fang Liang "Frank" Zhang Ph.D.’95, P’17, P’23, P’26, Fanwood, New Jersey
Co-Founder and CEO of GenScript

Past Chairs

  • Susan Wood M.S. '88, Palo Alto, California
  • Catherine McKnight ’98, A.M.’04, Ph.D.’07, Brooklyn, NY
  • Matt Rhodes-Kropf ’93, Ph.D.’99, Newton, MA
  • Peter Allan Muoio Active PA G'88, Roslyn Harbor NY
  • William Edwards Hunt Active PA T'84,  Pittsburgh PA