Skip to content

Nine Individuals, Two Departments Receive Dean’s Awards

The Duke Graduate School named three faculty members, six graduate students, and two academic departments as winners of the 2014 Dean’s Awards for Excellence in Mentoring, Teaching, and Inclusive Excellence. The winners were honored at a reception March 26 as part of the festivities for Graduate Student Appreciation Week.

The Dean’s Awards for Excellence in Mentoring recognize the considerable efforts and accomplishments of faculty and graduate students who consistently serve as effective mentors. Faculty candidates for the awards are nominated by current students and alumni of The Graduate School. Student candidates are nominated by all current Duke students, faculty, and alumni. The faculty winners receive $3,000 prizes, while the student winners receive $2,000 each.

The Dean’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching recognize outstanding teaching by actively enrolled PhD students. Each award is accompanied by a $2,000 prize. Nominations are made by faculty members.

The Dean’s Awards for Inclusive Excellence in Graduate Education, given out for the first time in 2014, recognize extraordinary achievements by departments and programs that contribute to The Graduate School’s commitment to excellence, equity, and inclusion in graduate education. The winners are selected by a committee of members of the graduate faculty and graduate student body. The winning department or program receives $5,000 for its discretionary account.

Photos of the awards reception

Excellence in Mentoring



Charles Becker
Associate Chair, Director of MA Program, Research Professor, Economics

More about Becker

David Kirsch
Associate Professor, Pharmacology and Cancer Biology
Associate Professor, Radiation Oncology

More about Kirsch

Ann Marie Rasmussen
Professor, Germanic Languages and Literature

More about Rasmusssen

Irene Liu
PhD Student, Biology
Faculty Adviser: Stephen Nowicki

More about Liu

Titilayo Shodiya
PhD Student, Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
Faculty Adviser: Nico Hotz

More about Shodiya

Excellence in Teaching

Owen Reagan
PhD Student, Religion
Faculty Adviser: Grant Wacker

More about Reagan

Clifford Robinson
PhD Student, Classical Studies
Faculty Adviser: Peter Burian

More about Robinson

Maria Terres
PhD Student, Statistical Sciences
Faculty Adviser: Alan Gelfand

More about Terres

Anil Venkatesh
PhD Student, Mathematics
Faculty Adviser: Richard Hain

More about Venkatesh

Inclusive Excellence in Graduate Education

  • Department of Cultural Anthropology (Chair: Orin Starn) | MORE
  • Department of Sociology (Chair: Eduardo Bonilla-Silva) | MORE