Skip to content

McClain, Haynie Receive Diversity Award

Paula D. McClain (Dean of the Graduate School and Vice Provost for Graduate Education; Professor of Political Science) and Kerry L. Haynie (Associate Professor of Political Science and Associate Professor of African and African American Studies), co-directors at the Center for the Study of Race, Ethnicity and Gender in the Social Sciences (REGSS), received the 2012 Diversity Award.

Since 2004, REGSS has sponsored lectures and visiting scholars, held five major national conferences, brought six scholars to campus through a distinguished lecture series, and created mentoring programs. It also sponsors the Samuel DuBois Cook Postdoctoral Fellowship, which honors the contributions and legacy of Dr. Cook, the first black tenured professor at Duke.