You are here

You are here

Graduate School Announces 9 Dean's Award Recipients for 2022

January 13, 2022

Dean's AwardsThe Duke Graduate School has announced the recipients of its 2022 Dean's Awards, which recognize outstanding efforts by graduate students, faculty, and departments/programs in mentoring, teaching, and creating inclusive spaces for graduate education. The recipients will be recognized during a virtual reception on March 30. More details about each recipient will be posted closer to the event.

Dean's Award for Excellence in Mentoring

Each faculty award winner receives a $3,000 prize, while each student recipient gets $2,000.


Anne-Maria Makhulu, Associate Professor of Cultural Anthropology and African & African American Studies

Steven Sexton, Mark and Lynne Florian Assistant Professor of Public Policy

Joseph Winters, Alexander F. Hehmeyer Associate Professor of Religious Studies and African and African American Studies


Katrina Wilson, Biomedical Engineering (Faculty Adviser: Tatiana Segura)

Emily Levy, Biology (Faculty Adviser: Susan Alberts)


Dean's Award for Excellence in Teaching

Each winner receives $2,000. This award is for Ph.D. students only.

Emma Davenport, English (Faculty Adviser: Kathy Psomiades)

Emmaline Eliseev, Psychology & Neuroscience (Faculty Adviser: Elizabeth Marsh)

Lauren Heckelman, Biomedical Engineering (Faculty Adviser: Louis Edwin Defrate)


Dean's Award for Inclusive Excellence in Graduate Education

Each winning department or program receives $5,000 to be used at its discretion.

ECE Advocacy for Student Engagement (EASE)

  • Nominators: Michael E. Gehm,  Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Natalie Rozman, Ph.D., Candidate and Sloan Scholar in Electrical & Computer Engineering