Skip to content

Career and Professional Development: The Preparing Future Faculty Program

2010-2011 Preparing Future Faculty Fellows

The Preparing Future Faculty program is an ongoing national initiative launched in 1993 by the Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U) and the Council of Graduate Schools (CGS). Duke University Graduate School participated in the pilot phase of the program, and its Preparing Future Faculty (PFF) Program continues to prosper in its 17th year. The PFF program helps prepare Ph.D. students for their future multiple roles and responsibilities as faculty members and educates them about the range of academic institutions they may encounter. This is achieved by bringing together faculty members from nearby partner institutions and Duke graduate students in mentoring relationships that encourage conversations about all aspects of faculty life.

Research supports that PFF program participants are more knowledgeable about institutional expectations of new faculty, make an easier transition from graduate student to new faculty member, are better teachers and mentors, and are on a faster track to obtain tenure. Under the leadership of Dr. Douglas James, the Graduate School supports and enhances this annual program with an active advisory board, a pool of supportive faculty mentors at nearby institutions, and group site visits to partner institutions. Listed below are the members of the 2010-11 PFF program cohort and their respective home departments.

PFF Fellows

Ashley Allen, Psychology & Neuroscience
Paul Borochin, Business Administration
Sara Bristow, Genetics / Cell & Molecular Biology
Zack Brown, Environment
Stefanie Chen, Biochemistry
Libby Davis, Environment
Queying Ding, Molecular Cancer Biology
Rebecca Ebitz, Neurobiology
Andrea Eslick, Psychology & Neuroscience
Steven Foy, Sociology
Deirdre Fuller, Immunology
Melissa Gottron, Neurobiology
Cynthia Greenlee-Donnell, History
Zack Hendren, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Kalyani Krishnamurthy, Electrical & Computer Engineering
Heather LaBreche, Genetics & Genomics
Daniel LaFave, Economics
Fang Liu, Business Administration
Sandra Nay McCourt, Psychology & Neuroscience
Shannon McDermott, Genetics & Genomics
Maureen Ritchey, Psychology & Neuroscience
E. Beia Spiller, Environmental Economics
SherAli Tareem, Religion
Gavin Taylor, Computer Science
Yanlong Zhang, Sociology

Postdoctoral PFF Fellows

Carlos Goller, Microbiology
Danielle Bousquet Moore, Neuroscience
Jennifer Sallee, Biology
Matthew Smith, Biology
Erin Strome, Cell & Molecular Biology