Skip to main

4 Ph.D. Students Win Duke Leadership Award

Student Leadership Award winners
From left: Heenehan, Iyengar, Paul, Wang

Four graduating Ph.D. students from The Graduate School are among the first class of winners for the Duke Alumni Association's Forever Duke Student Leadership Award, which recognizes students who embody the “Forever Duke” spirit in their service to the university.

The Graduate School recipients are:

  • Heather Heenehan, Marine Science and Conservation: Winner of The Graduate School's 2016 Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching; former graduate student outreach coordinator and graduate student representative at the Duke University Marine lab.
  • Vijeth Iyengar, Psychology: Director of academic programming for the Graduate and Professional Student Council; student liaison for Mobile Health at Duke group; participant in the school’s Emerging Leaders Institute.
  • Chris Paul, Environmental Policy: Former member of the Graduate School Board of Visitors, president of the school’s GradParents group, and Duke’s new graduate Young Trustee.
  • Jun Wang, Pharmacology: Member of the Graduate School Board of Visitors; former president of the Duke Chinese Students and Scholars Association; former director of young leadership for the North Carolina Chinese Business Association.

The winners will be recognized during a ceremony at the Washington Duke Inn on May 4.