Skip to main

2011 Dean’s Awards for Excellence in Mentoring and Teaching Announced

The Dean’s Awards for Excellence in Mentoring and Teaching are presented each year to graduate faculty and students who consistently demonstrate best practices in these areas. Good mentoring is a key factor in ensuring that students are well trained in their disciplines, successfully complete their degrees, and have promising career opportunities. The best mentors promote a tradition of mentoring practices in their students. Those honored for their teaching create learning environments that inspire and challenge their students to actively engage in the classroom experience. The tough competition for these awards reveals that Duke continues to enjoy a vibrant culture that values both exemplary mentoring and exceptional teaching—twin aspects of the university culture and a deeply rooted part of the Duke experience.

The 2011 award recipients are listed below.

Dean’s Award for Excellence in Mentoring

[link each name to corresponding profile]

Faculty Awards

Eduardo Bonilla-Silva
Professor of Sociology

Paula D. McClain
Professor of Political Science

Kristine Stiles
France Family Professor of Art, Art History & Visual Studies

Student Awards

Kaoru Ikuma
Civil & Environmental Engineering

Terry Jackson
Genetics & Genomics

Dean’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching

Aaron Thornburg
Cultural Anthropology

Allison Wisecup