Skip to main

2010 Dean’s Award for Excellence in Mentoring Announced

To recognize the considerable efforts and accomplishments of faculty and students who consistently serve as effective mentors, the Duke University Graduate School established the Dean’s Award for Excellence in Mentoring. This year, the Graduate School is pleased to announce that the following graduate faculty members and graduate students have been selected, after careful review and deliberation, to receive this award:

Faculty Awards

David Brady

Associate Professor of Sociology

Elizabeth A. Clark

John Carlisle Kilgo Professor of Religion and Professor of History

Scott Huettel

Associate Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience

Mohamed Noor

Professor and Associate Chair of Biology


Student Awards

William Geoffrey Gardner

Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science

Jayme M. Johnson

University Program in Genetics and Genomics

Laurie Stevison


A reception honoring these recipients is scheduled for Thursday, April 15 from 4:30 to 6:00 p.m. at the Fitzpatrick Center Atrium. Please send your RSVP to if you plan to attend. The tough competition for these awards reveals that a vibrant culture of mentoring at Duke continues to unfold before us. By honoring these sterling examples of mentoring-in-action we continue sharing the vision for this culture more broadly so that it may become a deeply rooted part of what students and faculty of the Graduate School come to expect from the Duke experience.