Skip to content

18 Ph.D. Students Receive NSF Graduate Research Fellowships for 2021

Duke's NSF GRFP recipients for 2021

Eighteen Duke Ph.D. students have received prestigious awards from the National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowship Program (NSF GRFP) for 2021.

Launched in 1952, the GRFP is the oldest graduate fellowship of its kind. It supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing Ph.D. or research-based master’s degrees. Fellows receive a three-year stipend, coverage of tuition and fees, and opportunities for international research and professional development.

The Ph.D. students who received GRFP awards this year were:

  • Armen Babken Bagdasarov, Psychology and Neuroscience
  • Nicolas Leonardo Camacho, Psychology and Neuroscience
  • Katherine Elizabeth Henson, Biology
  • Zachary Austin Holmes, Biomedical Engineerng
  • Cortney Megan Howard, Cognitive Neuroscience
  • Hengming Li, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Ethan Jeffrey LoCicero, Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
  • Latifah Amber Maasarani, Biomedical Engineering
  • Teresa Kaza McDonald, Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
  • Emily Hudson Myers, Political Science
  • Ty Downing Naquin, Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
  • Katherine Parham, Physics
  • Renata Elizabeth Lee Poulton Kamakura, Ecology
  • Joseph Terrell Rich, Biomedical Engineering
  • Srishti Sadhir, Evolutionary Anthropology
  • Margaret Elizabeth Swift, Environment
  • Anna Truong, Chemistry
  • Gianna Grace Tutoni, Chemistry

Twenty-one other Duke Ph.D. students received honorable mentions:

  • Jonathan Richard Behrens, Ecology
  • Elise Catherine Bell, Chemistry
  • Rebecca Chingmei Chen, Physics
  • Kirill Chesnov, Neurobiology
  • Katherine Elizabeth Duncker, Biomedical Engineering
  • Kayla Dana Fernando, Neurobiology
  • George Rafael Georgiou, Biochemistry
  • Dana Irene Grieco, Marine Science and Conservation
  • Grace Margaret Hooks, Biochemistry
  • Austin Hulse, Physics
  • Aaron Michael Keeler, Chemistry
  • Rachel Marie Keener, University Program in Genetics and Genomics
  • Sarah Kathryn Markert, Psychology and Neuroscience
  • Justin Garner Martyr, Biochemistry
  • Kevin Singkit Moyung, Computational Biology and Bioinformatics
  • Trent Ollerenshaw, Political Science
  • Griffin Steven Riddler, Political Science
  • Emily Swanson, Chemistry
  • Tyler Steven Waterman, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Daniel Thomas Wesenberg, Biochemistry
  • Huanyu Zhu, Biochemistry