Skip to content

15 Ph.D. Students Receive Prestigious NSF Fellowships

Duke's 2020 GRFP recipients
Duke's 2020 GRFP recipients

Fifteen Duke Ph.D. students have received prestigious awards from the National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowship Program (NSF GRFP) for 2020.

Launched in 1952, the GRFP is the oldest graduate fellowship of its kind. It supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing Ph.D. or research-based master’s degrees. Fellows receive a three-year stipend, coverage of tuition and fees, and opportunities for international research and professional development.

The Ph.D. students who received GRFP awards this year were:

  • Brittani Lauren Carroll, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Erika Marie Chelales, Biomedical Engineering
  • Marcello Thomas DeLuca, Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
  • Gavin Paul Gonzales, Biomedical Engineering
  • Jesse Nelson Granger, Biology
  • Anna Elizabeth Nordseth, Ecology
  • Tomer Rotstein, Biomedical Engineering
  • Chelsea Rae Shoben, Genetics and Genomics
  • Timothy Curtis Shoyer, Biomedical Engineering
  • Kavinayan Sivakumar, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Adriana Stohn, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Jonathan Su, Biomedical Engineering
  • Becky Tang, Statistical Science
  • Khanh Vien, Biology
  • Rachael Nadine Wright, Cognitive Neuroscience

Eighteen other Duke Ph.D. students also were honorable mentions:

  • Rebecca Williams Cook, Evolutionary Anthropology
  • Sophia DeLuca, Developmental and Stem Cell Biology
  • Raphael Markus Geddert, Cognitive Neuroscience
  • Laura Ann Givens, Marine Science and Conservation
  • Stephanie Gu, Biochemistry
  • Richard Lee Hollenbach III, Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
  • Elise Maria Le Boulicaut, Physics
  • Francesco Antonio Mastrocinque, Chemistry
  • Joshua James Milligan, Biomedical Engineering
  • Anastasia Jean Niver, Chemistry
  • Virginia Grace Pan
  • Ashleigh Simone Rawls, Pharmacology
  • Maria Pia Rodriguez Salazar, Cell Biology
  • Robert Thomas Simons, Chemistry
  • Madeleine Janette Sitton, Biomedical Engineering
  • Anna Pauliina Smith, Psychology
  • Rebeccah Stewart, Molecular Cancer Biology
  • Morgan Kendall Taylor, Psychology