You are here

You are here

Executive Committee of the Graduate Faculty (ECGF)

The graduate faculty, which meets on call, depends upon the Executive Committee of the Graduate Faculty for the creation of policy with respect to graduate study at Duke University, as well as for other delegated responsibilities. The ECGF normally meets regularly on matters affecting The Graduate School.

The ECGF consists of an elected faculty chair and four representatives from each of the academic divisions—humanities, biological sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. The chair may be one of those representatives. Faculty representatives are elected by their respective divisions for staggered two-year terms. The dean and the associate dean for academic affairs sit as ex officio members of the committee.

2021-2022 Committee Members


  • Simon Gregory, UPGG/Medicine/Neurology
  • Daniel Schmitt, Evolutionary Anthropology
  • Paula McClain, Dean, Ex Officio, The Graduate School
  • John Klingensmith, Ex Officio, The Graduate School
  • Jacqueline Looney, Ex Officio, The Graduate School
  • Shanna Fitzpatrick, Ex Officio, The Graduate School
  • Nicholas Alena, Ex Officio, The Graduate School

Student Representative

  • Niara Wright, Materials Science/Electrical and Computer Engineering

Library Observer

  • Hillary Gatlin, Records Manager


  • Helene McAdams, The Graduate School
  • Courtnea Rainey, The Graduate School

Biological & Biomedical Sciences

  • Dean Darnell, Medical Physics/Radiology
  • Simon Gregory, UPGG/Medicine/Neurology
  • William Morris, Biology
  • Daniel Schmitt, Evolutionary Anthropology


  • Tsitsi Jaji, English
  • Bill Seaman, AAHVS
  • David Morgan, Religious Studies
  • Edna Andrews, Slavic and Eurasian Studies

Physical Sciences and Engineering

  • Merlise Clyde, Statistical Science
  • Stephen Teitsworth, Physics
  • Jeff Krolik, Electrical and Comp Eng.
  • Joseph Izatt, Biomedical Engineering

Social Sciences

  • Ara Wilson, Gender, Sexuality and Feminist Studies
  • Allesandro Arlotto, Business Administration
  • Gregory Samanez-Larkin, Psychology and Neuroscience
  • David Siegel, Political Science

2021-2022 Meeting Schedule

Via Zoom
Tuesdays, 3:00pm – 5:00 pm

Fall semester

  • August 31
  • September 14
  • September 28
  • October 12
  • October 26
  • November 9
  • November 23
  • December 7

Spring semester

  • January 18
  • February 1
  • February 15
  • March 1
  • March 15
  • March 29
  • April 12
  • April 26