You are here

You are here

Board of Visitors

The Graduate School Board of Visitors, established in 2010, serves an important advisory function for the dean of The Graduate School. Comprising alumni from a broad geographic area and representing the comprehensive nature of The Graduate School, the board helps to support and promote the mission of The Graduate School. The board considers and provides information and makes recommendations on matters relating to the graduate experience at Duke. It gives informal advice and assistance about programs and projects and enhances communication among the constituencies of The Graduate School.

Board of Visitors 2020–2021

Chair: Ronald Temple ’90, New York, New York
Managing Director, Co-Head of Multi-Asset, head of U.S. equity at Lazard Asset Management LLC

Zaid Abdul-Aleem ’94, A.M.’96, Chicago, Illinois
Managing Director and Co-Founder, Private Funds Advisory Group at Moelis and Company

Bob Beckler ’83, P’22, Richmond, Virginia
Executive Chairman of TemperPack

Delisa Clay, Durham, North Carolina
Ph.D. student in Cell Biology

Pavan Desikan Ph.D.'00, Palo Alto, California
Software Engineer at Google

Rachel Alison Gevlin A.M. '18, Ph.D. '21, Monmouth, IL
Visiting Assistant Professor, English

Dennis Gilmore Ph.D. ’78, Durham, North Carolina
Senior Director of Technology Advancement & Commercial business unit at RTI International

Cynthia Hougum Ph.D.’93, Lakewood, Colorado
Senior VP, TerumoBCT

Min Hui Ph.D.’98, Atherton, California
Founder and CEO of Abacus Financial Services
CEO of HandScape

Michael Hunnicutt ’80, Ph.D.’84, P’15, Midlothian, Virginia
Assistant Professor of Chemistry, Virginia Commonwealth University

Sally Shaffer Hunnicutt ’83, P’15, Midlothian, Virginia
Associate Chair and Associate Professor of Chemistry, Virginia Commonwealth University

Mudit K. Jain Ph.D. ’99, San Francisco, California
Founder and General Partner at Strategic Healthcare Investment Partners

Weihong Jin P'17, P'23

Srinivasan Krishnan M.S. '91, Ph.D. '92, Palo Alto, CA
Co-founder and CEO of Getinsured.comSJoyce Alaine Scott Ph.D., '73, Greeley, CO

Lori Lehman Ph.D.’83, San Francisco, California
Vice President, Research Strategy and Portfolio Management at Gilead Sciences, Inc.

Evelyn Murphy ’61, Ph.D.’65, Brookline, Massachusetts
Founder and President of The WAGE Project, Inc.

Mary Sapp A.B. '71, Reston, VA

Stephen Sapp A.B. '68, M. Div. '71, Ph.D. '75, Reston, VA

Adam Sharkawy Ph.D.’97, Concord, Massachusetts
Co-Founder and Managing Partner at Material Impact

Lisa Yvette Waller Ph.D.'98, Brooklyn, New York
Head of School at the Berkeley Carroll School

Darryl L. Webster ’82, Bay Head, New Jersey

Stephen Williams Ph.D. ’80, Los Angeles, California
Partner with Catalyst Advisors, LP

George Wright Ph.D.’77, Cypress Gardens, Texas
Presidential Senior Advisor and Interim Vice President for Institutional Diversity, University of Kentucky

David Ye A.M.’88, Ph.D.’91, New York, New York

Fang Liang "Frank" Zhang Ph.D.'95 and Weihong Jin, Fanwood, New Jersey
Co-founder and CEO of GenScript

Past Chairs:

  • Susan Wood M.S. '88, Palo Alto, California
  • Catherine McKnight ’98, A.M.’04, Ph.D.’07, Brooklyn, NY
  • Matt Rhodes-Kropf ’93, Ph.D.’99, Newton, MA
  • Peter Allan Muoio Active PA G'88, Roslyn Harbor NY
  • William Edwards Hunt Active PA T'84,  Pittsburgh PA